Our Board  

The Commission’s Board meets regularly to set policy direction, approve major expenditure, and provide advice to the Minister on regional matters.

Board members are chosen based on ability at an executive level, a demonstrated involvement in either the economic or social development of the region, and the ability to work cooperatively to achieve agreed goals across a wide range of social and economic issues. Board members are confirmed by the Minister for Regional Development with terms ranging from one to three years.

The three categories for Board membership are community nominations, Local Government nominations, and Ministerial nominations.

Mr Terry Hill (Chair)

Terry Hill has held a number of senior roles in the Western Australian government, and at a national level. Terry holds a Bachelor of Science in Agriculture, a Masters in Agribusiness and is a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Mr Michael Heap (A/Chief Executive Officer)

Joining the Commission from the private sector in 2019, Mr Heap now leads a team of staff, based in the Pilbara, who work to ensure the region grows a diverse and sustainable economy. Mr Heap's professional background is in research and analytics, and he is an advocate for evidence-based decision making and the use of data to deliver impactful outcomes. He is passionate about contributing to the success of regional Western Australia, in particular the economic powerhouse of the Pilbara.

Ms Sara Slattery

Sara Slattery is a career practitioner with extensive experience working for employment services and Aboriginal-owned organisations in the Pilbara. As well as being a Community representative on the Pilbara Development Commission Board, she is the Board Chair for Robe River Kuruma Aboriginal Corporation. A member of the Australian Association of Career Counsellors and Institute of Company Directors, Ms Slattery has held leadership roles in a range of Pilbara Aboriginal and non-Aboriginal organisations, including in Roebourne and South Hedland. She is a Robe River Kuruma native title holder, and currently lives in Wickham.

Mr Brett Ellacott

Brett Ellacott is a mechanical engineer from Townsville, Queensland who worked across many commodities and resource companies in project management and maintenance before starting a company focused on technology and innovation opportunities. He recognises the Pilbara's potential for economic prosperity and diversification while possessing a community mindset demonstrated by his involvement in Port Hedland Marine Rescue as a senior skipper and projects coordinator. Mr Ellacott hopes to apply to the rigour of an engineering mindset and the perspective of a local technology startup founder and Port Hedland resident.

Ms Anne Mitchell

Anne Mitchell joins the PDC Board, bringing experience as a member of Aboriginal-organisation Boards and inter-agency committees in the Pilbara.

Ms Wendy McWhirter-Brooks

Wendy McWhirter-Brooks has decades of experience in agriculture, education and community development as an agricultural enterprise operator and a teacher. She is currently the Deputy President of the Shire of East Pilbara and is a member of a number of committees and Boards including the Pilbara/Kimberley JDAP Committee, Pilbara Tourism Association, North West and Northern Territory Advisory Committee, and is currently the Chair of the Marble Bar CRC. Living in Marble Bar in the Shire of East Pilbara, Ms McWhirter-Brooks is passionate about maximising opportunities for young people in regional WA, and helping to create better social, cultural and economic opportunities for people in the Pilbara.