Latest News

Ground-breaking tender for Spoilbank Marina project

Major works on Port Hedland's Spoilbank Marina project will kick off…

Pilbara RED Round 3 grants backing local tourism, industry

The Pilbara has been given a boost with the announcement of the latest…

Work starts on Spoilbank Marina road upgrades

Work has commenced on the first stage of the State Government's $121.5…

Landmark project to map Pilbara’s Aboriginal art movement

A landmark project will map the Pilbara Aboriginal art movement for…

Tender open for bulk earthworks for Spoilbank Marina project

​ The tender for bulk earthworks for the multi-million dollar…

New members join Pilbara Development Commission Board

Jun 11, 2020

The Pilbara Development Commission has welcomed the appointment of three new members to its Board and the reappointment of one of its existing members.

Appointments to the Board are made by the Minister for Regional Development and endorsed by Cabinet.

Under the Regional Development Commission Act 1993 the Board should include two members who are elected councillors from local governments in the region and two members who are appointed as community members.

Calls for nominations are advertised via news outlets and via letters to local government, business chambers and other regional organisations.

The new Board members are:

  • Mr Brett Ellacott, who is the Founder and Director of a Pilbara technology business servicing the mining industry, and volunteers for Port Hedland Marine Rescue. Mr Ellacott has been appointed as Community member.
  • Ms Marg Bertling, who is a Councillor for the City of Karratha and operator of a photography and videography business. Ms Bertling has been appointed as a Local Government member.
  • Mr Tim Larkin, who is the Chief Executive Officer of an Aboriginal business providing a range of contractual services in the Pilbara. Mr Larkin has been appointed as a Community member.
  • Ms Gerry Parsons, who is a Councillor for the Shire of East Pilbara and a board member for a range of Newman community and business organisations, has been reappointed for a second term.

    Ms Parsons and the three new Board members join existing Board member, Ms Sara Slattery, who is a Career Practitioner with experience working for employment services and Aboriginal-owned organisations in the Pilbara, and Board Chair, Mr Brendan Hammond, who has worked in a range of senior roles across energy, water, ports and resources sectors.

    Mr Hammond said he was looking forward to working with the new Board members who each brought extensive experience in diverse fields.

    “As outlined in our Strategic Plan 2019-21, the purpose of the Commission is to be the catalyst for development and growth in the Pilbara,” Mr Hammond said.

    “Our new and reappointed Board members bring diverse experience that is highly relevant to this task.

    “I greatly look forward to working with them to achieve the Commission’s vision for the Pilbara region of vibrant and sustainable communities underpinned by a strong, diverse economy.”

    Further information about the Commission’s Board may be found here.


    All contents copyright © Government of Western Australia. All rights reserved.

    Home | Privacy | Disclaimer | Copyright