The Board is the governing body of the Pilbara Development Commission and is responsible to the Minister for Regional Development for the efficient operation of the Commission.

Board members

The Pilbara Development Commission Board is responsible for setting the Commission’s strategic direction. As a governing board, it guides and directs the Commission, sets performance goals, ensures corporate compliance and management accountability, endorses strategic plans and approves operating budgets. The Board ensures that the Commission has the resources necessary to achieve goals, monitors progress and reports on outcomes.

15277 - 0101.jpg

Mr Brendan Hammond (Chairperson)

A skilled executive and senior leader, Brendan has more than 22 years of experience in senior roles across energy, water, ports and resources sectors, including as Managing Director of Rio Tinto Argyle Diamonds. He has more than ten years of contiguous experience as a board Chairperson of listed businesses and government trading enterprises, including Horizon Power and the Dampier Port Authority. Brendan has a proven track record of working with regional communities, in Western Australia and around the world, to drive economic and social change. He is a partner in Centric Digital LLC (New York), the owner of Seymour Associates Pty Ltd, and contributes widely in the not-for-profit sector through a number of roles.

Brendan actively seeks to impart his experience and knowledge to the next generation of leaders, most recently as an Adjunct Professor of Sustainability with the Curtin University of Technology Sustainability Policy Institute. In 2011, Brendan was awarded the Western Australian Citizen of the Year award for his contribution to regional development.


Mr Chris Cottier (Deputy Chairperson)

Chris Cottier was raised in Port Hedland and is BHP Billiton Iron Ore's Corporate Affairs Manager for the Pilbara. Chris has worked in various State and Federal government roles across the South West, Kimberly and Pilbara. Chris is the current Chairperson of the North West Chamber of Minerals and Energy Committee and is an industry representative on the Hedland Senior High School Board. Chris's key focus is to ensure that strong planning informs the right investment decisions to continue to improve the liveability of the Pilbara and allow for ongoing growth across all sectors.

X13_5289 Terry HILL.JPG

Mr Terry Hill (Chief Executive Officer)

Terry Hill has held a number of senior roles in the Western Australian government, and at a national level. Terry holds a Bachelor of Science in Agriculture, a Masters in Agribusiness and is a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.


Dr Alan Eggleston

Dr Alan Eggleston came to Port Hedland in 1974 establishing a private medical practice in South Hedland in 1976 .He become involved in local community affairs through the Port Hedland Chamber of Commerce and later the Port Hedland Town Council. Dr Eggleston was Mayor of Port Hedland before entering the Senate in 1996 were he served three six year terms.While in the Senate he was a member of the Abbott government committee on Northern Development.

Alan believes the Pilbara is uniquely placed to develop trade and tourism with Asia.


Mr Owen Hightower

Mr Owen Hightower has been based in the Pilbara region for over 5 years. He is an experienced town planner, and small business owner. Prior to relocating to the Pilbara, Owen has worked for both regional and metropolitan local governments working in both statutory and strategic planning. Currently, Owen is also working with lead Aboriginal corporations in the Pilbara and Kimberley on remote and town based community economic development and sustainability initiatives.

Cr Gerry Parsons.jpg

Cr Gerry Parsons

Councillor Gerry Parsons has resided in Newman since 2000 and enjoys being part of the community. She has served as a Councillor for the Shire of East Pilbara since 2011. Gerry has been involved in multiple junior sporting organisations, Primary and High Schools, Newman Arts Council, Safer WA and Newman Day Care Centre. She currently sits on the NCCI, Turf Club, Newman Recreation Centre Management Committee and is the secretary for the Catholic Church. She is an awarded Newman Volunteer of the Year, Newman International Women’s Day recipient and a Life Member of the Newman Tee Ball and Junior Soccer Associations.

Jay Ahmedi.jpg

Cr Jeton Ahmedi

Councillor Jeton Ahmedi was born and raised in Newman and is General Manager for the Newman Chamber of Commerce and Industry. In 2015, Jeton was appointed as Shire of East Pilbara Councillor (South Ward) for a four year term and also serves as Vice Chairman for the Newman Senior High School Board. He is passionate about supporting his local community and plays an active role as Justice of the Peace, Secretary for Fortescue Golf Club and holds various volunteer positions for local junior sporting associations. Jeton is committed to making informed decisions for the benefit of our region’s economic growth and diversification.

Cr Julie Arif.jpg

Cr Julie Arif

Councillor Arif is a long-term Port Hedland resident and local historian with experience in local government and regional development. Cr Arif worked in education for 22 years and is an active member of the community. She is involved with Soroptimists International, the Port Hedland Historical Society and Care for Hedland Environmental Group.

All contents copyright © Government of Western Australia. All rights reserved.

Home | Privacy | Disclaimer | Copyright